One of those days

Did you ever have one of those days? You know, the kind where you had a blog post all ready to go and deleted most of accidently when dropping in a photo? The kind where it’s 11:30 pm and the work that was supposed to be done two hours ago is still staring you in the face? The kind where the next thing is going to happen at any moment and I am unprepared, but will have to drop everything when it’s time for it to begin, thus getting further behind.

One of THOSE days.

Where is God in it? I don’t know. He’s here, I know that. I don’t feel it, though, so I’m acting in trust that his presence will permeate the things that do get done as well as the things that remain undone. He’ll be here in this blog post, and in the grocery store run, and in the dog walking, and in the medication pickup and in tomorrow’s job interview. Reminding myself of that helps. Stopping for a moment, taking a deep breath and saying “Lord, you are here,” helps too. Giving up on the perfect blog post and writing this in 5 minutes and entrusting it to the Lord also helps.

Lord, I know you are present in my person, in my every moment, in those things done and undone. Bless the work of my hands today and let me heart find its rest in you. (And let these folks who read this post get some benefit from my poor offering today.) Amen.

2 thoughts on “One of those days

  1. Jen (Cribbs) Hollenbeck

    Lisa, I’m having one of those days. It started at 3:42 a.m. and I haven’t been able to name and respond to, with trust, my sense of control lost until I read this at 1:34 p.m. So, thank you, friend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

