Knitting in public (KIP)

It’s hard to believe I haven’t really done a post on knitting yet. And at the same time, it’s not one of those things that just automatically leads to me thinking about how God is present in my life. Mostly when I knit I’m just letting my mind relax, not thinking or at least thinking in a different way, letting the rhythm and repetition even out the peaks and valleys of my day. But knitting in public has lead to some interesting encounters with people.

IV Fingerless Mitts. Pattern coming soon to Ravelry!

There is C–, who sees the same doctor as my husband, whose hands get cold during herinfusions. I had an idea for fingerless gloves that would allow for easy IV access, knit a pair and gave them to her. She loves them and wears them whenever she gets her treatment.

Then there’s the time I was knitting (same Dr’s office) and a technician saw my 11th Hour Scarf. The scarf is made with bulky yarn and giant needles about the fatness of curtain rods. I was live entertainment for patients and technicians alike! The technician kept studying the seed stitch pattern of the scarf and thought it was a potholder. I brought the finished object the following week. She loved it and kept wrapping it around her head in different ways, brainstorming other items that could be knit with the same stitches.

The 11th Hour Scarf isn’t so easy to make at the last minute, but it sure is pretty.

Then there was the time when I brought knitting to my husband’s work banquet, knowing I would be spending much of the evening on my own. Sitting at the table with one of his coworkers and his wife, working on a beehive style hat, S– looked on enviously and said “I wish I’d brought my knitting.” It turns out she is an avid knitter, ran an Etsy shop for a while and was known to stay up late ’til 1pm just to buy Wollmeise, a German yarn that is very hard to acquire. She graciously sent me a skein of that hard-to-get yarn, which I’ve just started a pair of socks with. (And my knit class instructor recognized instantly, I might add.) She is also a test knitter for my IV fingerless gloves.

Each of these interactions is a very normal, day-to-day interaction, but they remain with me. I wouldn’t have had any of these encounters without being willing to “publicly proclaim” my devotion to knitting. My willingess to do what I love in public has taken these chance encounters and deepened them in a way, created more of a bond than would have been there otherwise. And it’s because of knitting and doing what I love that I remember these interactions–what I was working on, the reactions of others, the little things said in conversation.

This makes me wonder how I can take Jesus with me and be devoted to him in a way that leads others to ask me about him? I suppose I could lug around a big Bible and read it, but to be honest, I don’t love the Bible. I love Jesus and he’s invisible. He can only be seen in the echos of his actions by us in the world. It’s like finding a ship by looking for the wake of the boat. This is definitely harder than KIP, but that does give me a place to start–after all, his hands are now warming C’s hands through the mitts I knitted.

Lord Jesus, help me to make you known in small ways to those I meet today. May my hands and feet echo your movements and your Holy Spirit open the minds and hearts to others to see your echos as evidence of your presence. Amen.

One thought on “Knitting in public (KIP)

  1. Betty Heanssler

    I ALWAYS enjoy your devotions, Daughter Dear, but this one and the one about doing job applications online are especially good…..our children often teach us if we’re willing to listen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

