Hopeful and humble

mappa_blog

WordPress can be a little pushy when it comes to blogging. They offer advice like:

  • Post twice a week–every day is best!
  • Check out other people’s blogs and “like” them. Better yet, post a comment and they’ll return the favor.
  • Share your posts with your social networks. Build those social networks!
  • Link to other blogs, or reblog other blogs, or blog about other blogs.
  • Check out your stats regularly to see where people are visiting your site from and build those relationships.

All of this advice is designed to do one thing: “build traffic” or encourage other people to visit your site. This is good advice, if your goal is to have more and more visitors, to reach a wider and wider audience, to broaden your sphere of influence. Being important is what’s important, right?

There have been times when I’ve been driven to post more on my blog by my site views and click throughs. For someone who likes to be seen as “the expert,” it’s a huge temptation to build a sphere of influence on my own little corner of the web. But as blogging become a spiritual discipline for me, I’ve become more concerned about the state of my soul and the sincerity and truthfulness of what I post. Taking the time to reflect on the greatness of God and how I see that play out in my own life is becoming its own reward, as opposed to the “liking” of others.

I may never move beyond the audience of the 30 or so of you who check in each week. But that’s OK. My tiny, humble slice of cyberspace merely reflects my life among the millions and millions of other lives. The smallness of it doesn’t negate its importance in my own life and in some of yours. In this slice of space, God is glorified and his path is illuminated. To God be the glory, each and every moment of each and every day, in each and every post. Amen.

2 thoughts on “Hopeful and humble

Leave a Reply

